Big Momma wants to know – where were you?

 I have to say that this weekend was one of the best for Big Momma, I got to get out see many amazing local musicians, got to meet a celebrity and he seemed to be pretty impressed with me and set up some wicked interviews, that will soon follow.

Okay, first off who did I go see. 

On Friday night I went to Shannon’s Irish Pub and saw Lindsey White, this was my first time seeing her live and WOW! Her band is tight and her vocals were powerful. Besides Lindsey being an amazing performer she is a super cool chick and I recommend that anyone who gets a chance to go see her go and do it.

I know I am about to name drop but I don’t care, the drummer was the drummer for the Crash Test Dummies, Mitch Dorge. He is a great guy and was super friendly and sort of made my night. And I am hoping to be setting up an interview with him too.

Crash Test Dummies were a Winnipeg band incase you didn’t know, but maybe you know this song.

Saturday Night!

Again I found myself at Shannon’s Irish Pub, checking out another great local band The Xanad00ds, they are a mix of everything awesome and I am very excited to sit down and do an interview with them as well. They have an album release party coming up and it would be a great way to go see them and buy a C.D. or two.

Big Momma’s Thoughts

So, I try to attend as many of these events and nights as I can, one because I want to support our local talent, but two because I love music. The one thing that always makes me sad, is knowing how much these artists put out there for people and give such an awesome show, yet when I looking around I see an empty bar. Why is that?

I have a few things for you to ponder on till next time, but think if of the 20,000 local music fans spent $10 a month towards a band, weather it be a show or C.D., t-shirt, donation. We would look at an industry that would be making roughly $2,400,000!  Just some loose figures from Facebook, but I really think we can be the movement to make this happen!

funny-pictures-how-musicians-works

So get out there and support some local music!

2 Comments

Leave a comment